Quoit Club | The Black History Museum
John Mitchell, Jr., a leader of the black community in the 1890’s lobbied hard to have this building constructed as a symbol of equality with the white militias and their lofty castle-like headquarters. This building was constructed in 1895 and has served at various times as an armory, school, warehouse, and during World War II, a reception center for black servicemen.
It is the oldest armory building still standing in Virginia and one of only three in the country built exclusively for African American troops. The City of Richmond owned the Armory since it was built and is now the future home of the Black History Museum and Cultural Center of Virginia.
Mix and mingle with great people, enjoy fantastic food and drink and absorb fascinating expert commentary on Richmond history, architecture and culture. Part Happy Hour and part field trip, there’s nothing quite like a Quoit Club event.
Event is free for Quoit Club members.
Single Event Tickets: $20 at the door.
2015 Historic Richmond Quoit Club sponsored by: