Quoit Club | The Barton Mansion
The Barton Mansion, previously known as Corner Minor, was built in the 1890s for James H. Barton, the original developer of Barton Heights. Representative of the Queen Anne style, this house boasts a round corner tower with a bell cast roof and finial, wraparound porch, Palladian windows and lunettes in the gable ends, and is the only neighborhood dwelling with a porte cochere.
The mansion is one of the most prominent houses in Barton Heights, a remarkably intact turn-of-the-twentieth-century residential quarter of Richmond. One of the first developments in Northside, the neighborhood was annexed in 1914 and prospered through the mid-century. Still standing at the intersection of Monteiro and Vale, the house sits in the same large park that housed the town’s water supply at Mitchell’s Spring.
The mansion previously served as a home for unwed mothers, a polio treatment center, a sanitarium, and a nursing home.
Tickets: Free for members, $20 per person for non-members. Tickets here.